Three receding ticket stubs in bone, teal, and copper on a dusk field, no text or people
narrative therapycontinuing educationprofessional developmentclinical training

Narrative Therapy Training: Hours, Cost, Next Step

Photo of Andrew Evans
Andrew Evans Clinical Operations Writer 9 min read
Outline

Narrative therapy training, compared

Scroll the table sideways to view every column

Provider Format Hours Supervised practice
Caspersen Therapy and Training Center, Level 1 Online web conference. Oct 2, 2026 to Apr 21, 2027, 9am to 12pm CDT. Monthly workshops, practice groups, texts, and readings. Recordings if you miss a session. 14 workshop hours offered. Attend 3 of 4 workshops. 21 practice-group hours (seven groups, three hours each). 35 CEU hours. Practice groups for skill practice. Supervision of your own cases is not described.
Narrative Therapy Initiative, Next Steps for Narrative Learning 2026-2027 Online via Zoom. The calendar dates it Friday, Oct 9, 2026 through Wednesday, Apr 2, 2027. Registration is open. The 2026-2027 Narrative Certificate Program is not listed. Not stated. Not stated. The listing describes practice and consultation about clinical work.
Windz, Oakville, fall and winter certificate Virtual. Ten dates from Oct 30, 2026 to Mar 5, 2027, 10:00am to 1:00pm EST each day. Registration open. 30-hour training program. Not stated.
Dulwich, Adelaide, one-year program Two one-week intensives, Feb 1 to 5, 2027 and Nov 15 to 19, 2027, online or in person in Adelaide, subject to availability. Reading and writing between. Monthly Zoom catch-ups. Attendance required at five of ten. Live blocks run on Adelaide time. Contact hours for the teaching weeks are not stated. Practice diary: at least 1 hour a week. Optional module: 5 hours a week on average (180 hours, March to November). Base program: tutor feedback on written reflections. Optional module: record two sessions, transcribe 15 minutes, and receive supervision on that.
CCC, Singapore, Narrative Therapy Level 1 Three days, planned on site. Training moves to Zoom if they cannot meet in person. January 2027 dates: Jan 8, 15, and 22. August 2026 closing date was July 31, 2026. 21 hours. No assignment. Certificate requires at least 80 percent attendance of those 21 hours. Not stated. Offered: lectures, small-group discussion, and experiential exercises.

Then match the same provider to the certificate it awards, the cost range, and your next step.

Scroll the table sideways to view every column

Provider Certificate awarded Cost range Next step
Caspersen Therapy and Training Center, Level 1 Named Narrative Therapy Certificate Program, Level 1. A CEU certificate after all course requirements, with workshop dates on it. $995. Books listed separately at $125, shipping not included. Two payments add a $150 administrative charge. If Friday 9am to 12pm CDT fits, register before the listing's Nov 1 close.
Narrative Therapy Initiative, Next Steps for Narrative Learning 2026-2027 Not named as a certificate. The calendar says CEUs are available for the listed trainings. Hour count not stated. The 2026-2027 Narrative Certificate Program is not listed. $2,000, or $1,750 if the participant has taken NTI's Narrative Certificate Program. If this advanced year fits, use the register link on the calendar. Do not treat this row as the certificate program.
Windz, Oakville, fall and winter certificate Titled a certificate program. The document you receive is not described. $1,145 + HST printed registration fee. The early-bird line still says $975 + HST until Oct 4, and that date has passed. On Oct 7 the store still displayed $975, with $1,145 struck as the regular fee. Confirm the checkout price before you pay. Groups of 6 or more, and confirmed students, 10 percent off. If you want the short virtual block, confirm the checkout price, then register. The Oct 4 early-bird date has passed.
Dulwich, Adelaide, one-year program Optional certification module. Eligible for recognition of prior learning for one subject of the Master of Narrative Therapy and Community Work if other entry requirements are met. The module cannot be completed separately. 2027: AUD$4,400 including GST for Australian residents, or AUD$4,000 international, without the module. AUD$6,270 including GST, or AUD$5,700 international, with the module. If you want the master's-subject path, budget the module and confirm you can practice 5 hours a week from March to November.
CCC, Singapore, Narrative Therapy Level 1 Certificate in Narrative Therapy Level 1 if the attendance rule is met. $1,090.00 with GST. If you can be there those three days, apply before the printed close of Dec 25, 2026.

Prices and program details from each provider’s public page, read September 25, 2026. Narrative Therapy Initiative, Windz, and each listing’s cancellation, withdrawal, and deferral language were re-read October 7, 2026.

If a listing changes, the listing wins. Links to each page are in the references.

Before you pay, read the cancellation, withdrawal, and deferral terms on the listing. Caspersen’s Eventbrite listing prints a refund policy of no refunds. Windz prints a cancellation and refund policy on the certificate page. Dulwich prints a deferral rule and a cancellation and transfer policy. The NTI calendar and the CCC page do not print cancellation, withdrawal, or deferral terms. Ask those providers for the terms in writing before you pay. Do not assume a refund, a credit, or a deferral a listing did not state.

Email me the one-page plan

One focus theme, one thing to try, one reading, a monthly check-in, and a CPD/CEU log. Put the training choice on it before you pay.

  • Five-line skeleton: focus theme, one try, one reading, monthly check-in, CPD/CEU log
  • Four monthly rows that ask whether you tried the move, not how you score
  • CPD/CEU log with date, title, provider, hours, and focus-tie column
  • Reminder that you set the goals; this is not a ranking or an owner file

Free. We'll email the PDF link right away and add you to the therapist toolkit, sent every two weeks. Unsubscribe any time.

Read the row before you read the brochure

You already know the ache. A six-hour file lands in a folder named CE, and next Tuesday’s hour opens the same way. Narrative therapy training does not fix that by itself. The listing either tells you what you will practice, or it tells you what you will attend. The professional development plan for therapists is where the try goes after you pick a row. The folder is not the try.

Four questions sort a row faster than a brochure does.

Hours. Is the number contact time, a CEU total, a practice-diary expectation, or missing? Keep narrative therapy training attached to a number you can point at. Caspersen’s listing states 14 workshop hours, 21 practice-group hours, and 35 CEU hours. Dulwich does not state contact hours for the two teaching weeks. It does state a practice diary of at least one hour a week, and five hours a week on average if you add the certification module. Do not treat a blank cell as zero, and do not treat a CEU total as the same fact as time in the room.

Format. Can you be there? Caspersen is 9am to 12pm CDT on the dates in the listing. Dulwich runs the live blocks on Adelaide time and expects you fully available. Windz is 10:00am to 1:00pm EST on ten listed dates. CCC plans three days on site in Singapore, with Zoom only if they cannot meet in person. A program missing from the calendar is not a format you can join. The NTI calendar does not list the 2026-2027 Narrative Certificate Program. It lists Next Steps for Narrative Learning, online via Zoom, and dates it Friday, October 9, 2026 through Wednesday, April 2, 2027. Registration is open.

Supervised practice. Say the words the listing uses. Caspersen describes practice groups “focused on acquiring skills to practice the different narrative principles.” That is skill practice with other participants. It is not a sentence about someone watching your own cases. Dulwich’s base program describes tutor feedback on written reflections. Supervision shows up in the optional module: you record two sessions, transcribe 15 minutes, and receive supervision about that. If your board, employer, or consultation plan needs supervision of your work, a practice group does not fill that line. Confirm the requirement with the body that holds it. These listings do not state a license rule for you.

Certificate awarded. “Certificate” is the word on the brochure. The column is the document. CCC awards a Certificate in Narrative Therapy Level 1 if you attend at least 80 percent of 21 hours, and the page says the course has no assignment. Dulwich’s optional module makes you eligible for recognition of prior learning for one subject of the Master of Narrative Therapy and Community Work, run with the University of Melbourne, if other entry requirements are met. The module cannot be completed on its own. Windz titles a certificate program and does not describe the document. If the cell does not name the paper, do not invent it when you tell a supervisor what you earned.

Narrative therapy certification is not one credential

If you searched for narrative therapy certification, you were right to be suspicious of a single answer. The word covers an attendance rule, a named program, and an optional module with a project. If you came for narrative therapy training and the certificate column is blank, ask the provider what paper you receive before you pay.

CCC is the plain version. No assignment. At least 80 percent of 21 hours. Then the Certificate in Narrative Therapy Level 1. That is a finish line you can see before you pay $1,090.00 with GST, which is how the page writes the fee.

Dulwich is the other version. The one-year program runs without the module. The module adds two recorded sessions, a 15-minute transcript, supervision on that material, a 5,000-word project, and a practice diary of five hours a week on average, which the page also states as 180 hours from March to November. Finish that, and you are eligible for recognition of prior learning for one master’s subject if other entry requirements are met. Eligible is not enrolled. The page says “if other entry requirements are met.”

The NTI calendar does not name a 2026-2027 Narrative Certificate Program or print a fee for one. It lists Next Steps for Narrative Learning at $2,000, or $1,750 if the participant has taken NTI’s Narrative Certificate Program. It does not print the hours. You cannot fill the hours cell from a wish.

None of these sentences is a board rule. Caspersen is the only listing here that speaks to continuing-education approval. It says CEUs are available through Minnesota licensing boards of Family Therapy, Psychology, and the Board of Behavioral Health, and that national CEUs are available through ASWB for social work. It also says ASWB covers other licenses in different states, and it asks you to contact the licensing board associated with your license. Do that before you count 35 hours toward renewal. Do not copy Minnesota’s approval onto a license the listing did not name.

Narrative therapy courses sit next to the certificate, and they are cheaper for a reason

The same calendars sell narrative therapy courses that are not the year. Use them when you want one day, or when the certificate seat is gone.

NTI lists “What is Narrative Therapy?” for Friday, January 8, 2027, 10am to 5pm EST, online via Zoom. Early-bird fee on the calendar: $125.00 until November 15, 2026. Regular fee after that date: $140.00. That is a day. It is not Next Steps for Narrative Learning, which the calendar prices at $2,000, or $1,750 if the participant has taken NTI’s Narrative Certificate Program. Next Steps is not the 2026-2027 certificate program.

Windz lists a 15-hour summer intensive, August 10 to 14, 2026, 10:00am to 1:00pm EST, at $585 + HST. Registration is closed. The spring 5-day certificate, April 10, 17, and 24 and May 1 and 8, 2026, is also marked registration closed. Don’t build a fall plan on a closed spring date. The live Windz row is the 30-hour fall and winter certificate, still marked registration open. The printed registration fee is $1,145 + HST. The early-bird line still says $975 + HST until October 4, and that date has passed. On October 7 the store still displayed $975, with $1,145 struck as the regular fee. Confirm the checkout price before you pay. Do not plan on the early-bird holding.

A course can be the right buy. It cannot impersonate the certificate column. If you only needed a vocabulary day before you decide on a year, take the day and write that as the next step. If you needed the paper a supervisor asked for, the day does not produce it. The certificate rows on this page run from Caspersen’s $995 to NTI Next Steps at $2,000, or AUD$4,000 to AUD$6,270. The course rows are lower: the NTI day at $125 or $140, and the closed Windz intensive at $585 + HST. Do not read $975 + HST as the low price for every row.

What you do with the row you pick

Pick one row. Write the date you will act. Name the row you are leaving. That is the whole planning line. A second certificate does not make the first choice cleaner.

If your week already has a Friday morning group and a note backlog, start there. The Caspersen block is 9am to 12pm CDT. If that collides with the group, the row fails before the price matters. Windz at 10:00am EST may fit the same Friday, or it may not. Adelaide time will not fit a clinic day on the east coast of the United States unless you protect the week of the intensive. Singapore may not fit if you cannot travel, unless CCC moves the course online under the contingency it states. Sold out fails even if the fee looks fair.

Write the leave-for-later line so you don’t reopen five tabs on Sunday. The plan holds one focus theme, one thing to try, one reading, a monthly check-in, and a log column. The training choice is the focus. The in-session move is the try. The certificate is not the try.

A mentor can look at the line with you. What a mentor does for a therapist is the distinction between advice and someone else filling the form. You still pick the row.

When the hours are over, the chart still needs a note. Session documentation is a different job from the certificate. Do not shop for software in the same hour you choose a training path.

Session tools are not the training path

A worksheet does not teach you the conversation. Training does not hand you the page you will use on Tuesday. If you want prompts for externalizing, re-authoring, and unique outcomes in the room, use narrative therapy worksheets. If you want the wider set of pages across modalities, start at therapy worksheets. Come back here when the question is which listing to pay, not which page to print.

Download the professional development plan

Put the narrative therapy training choice on paper before you pay, not after the receipt. The plan holds one focus, one try, one reading, a monthly line that asks whether you tried it, and a log for hours. It does not rank you. It does not file a board report. Copy the hours your certificate states. Do not convert them into a score.

Send the plan to my inbox

Same one-page plan. Fill the training choice and the act-by date this week.

Free. We'll email the PDF link right away and add you to the therapist toolkit, sent every two weeks. Unsubscribe any time.

References

Ready to transform your practice?

Join 10,000+ therapists using Emosapien.